Students place in Tidewater Physics Olympics

On Saturday, March 25, 19 of our middle school students descended on Cape Henry Collegiate to compete in the 29th Annual Tidewater Physics Olympics Phun with Physics. The four teams competed in six, 20-minute events that required some knowledge of science and quite a bit of team work and collaboration. The event, which is organized by the Tidewater Teachers of Physics Society, is designed to be fun and active group challenges that include science knowledge.

The High Speed Turtles, which was comprised of students Caroline Burton, Eleanor Wallach, Nolan Russell and Mason Thibodeau, took first place in the helicopter drop competition.

The Lab Rats, comprised of students Abby Carlsmith, Gabby Guirand, Sadie McNaughton, Naomi Hohnholt and Darcy Foster, took second place overall, and were awarded tickets to Water Country USA.

The other teams competing included the Cool Egiats, with students Bryan Bejarano, Logan Reed, Logan Pausch, Zach Farrell and Ashar Zahir and the Dysfuntional Ones, with students TiJah Chapman, Marah Gordon, Truman Skaggs, Feras Haque and Winston Chapman.