Tim Duvall  Ahn Tran  Jill Archer  Erin Smyth  

Aaron Gregory  Dr. Frank Thomson  Rebecca Zborowski

faculty honored with Mathas Award for Professional Excellence

Norfolk Collegiate recognized seven faculty members with the Keryn and Ted Mathas Award for Professional Excellence on Aug. 16, 2017.

The Keryn and Ted Mathas Award for Professional Excellence was established in 2012 to recognize Norfolk Collegiate faculty members who uphold the high standards in the characteristics of professional excellence and demonstrate a strong commitment to Norfolk Collegiate, its students and its vision.

The 2017 Mathas Award recipients are: 

  • Tim Duvall, fifth-grade teacher
  • Ahn Tran, facilities
  • Erin Smyth, science teacher
  • Jill Archer, English teacher
  • Dr. Frank Thomson, science teacher
  • Aaron Gregory, social studies teacher
  • Rebecca Zborowski, math teacher and math department chair 

In recognition of their high standards and performance, recipients are given a monetary award that may be used as he/she sees fit and is funded by Norfolk Collegiate Alumnus Ted Mathas ’85. Mathas is chairman of the board, president and chief executive officer of New York Life Insurance Co., the largest mutual life insurer in the United States.