NJHS inducts 32 new members

Norfolk Collegiate School’s Heath Chapter of the National Junior Honor Society, NJHS, inducted 32 new members into the chapter on Friday, March 18, 2016. NJHS is a national organization that recognizes outstanding seventh- and eighth-grade students who meet academic and service requirements. 

The new inductees included: Ennass Uosife Alfahd; Kaylee Michelle Bejarano; Amelia Berz; Gabrielle Nash Claywell; Dana Ahjané Connor; Elizabeth Finley Connors; Peter Anderson Crenshaw; Riley Cunningham; Skylar Anne Foster; Logan Taylor Gaskin; Ava F. Georgo; Veronica Blanchard Gross; Michael P. Harvey III; Chapman Holt; Caroline Elizabeth James; Victoria Michael Jones; Sidney Justine Jordan; Sylvia Mack; Jessica Magee; Martha Perry McKay; Abigail McMonagle; Taylor Ashton O’Neal; Olivia Petty; Sebastian Portillo; Ellis Marie Robertson; Dylan Rowell; Ellie Smith; Emily Rachel Skroch; James Alexander Thibodeau; Bronte Unrein; Harrison Williams and Ryan Tyler Williams. 

Members must have a cumulative grade point average of 88. However, membership is more than just academic. Students must also demonstrate the attributes of leadership, good character and citizenship, as well as a desire to render service and to provide worthy leadership. To be eligible, students have to have already completed 10 hours of community service and must complete an additional 10 hours before the end of the school year. 

At Collegiate, community service activities and volunteerism are valued, and students are encouraged to participate in activities that benefit others.