Winter Student-Athletes Honored 

Norfolk Collegiate wrapped up its 2020 winter season celebrating our student-athletes on Wednesday, March 11, during the Winter Athletic Awards program in the Watt-Baker Gymnasium.

We celebrated our 17 teams who participated in basketball, swimming and winter club track team. The season culminated with our student-athletes being TCIS runners-up and VISAA Division II runners-up, as well as many students celebrating personal bests.

Through perseverance, topping personal bests and working as a team, they learned priceless lessons about themselves and their fellow teammates. Thirty-four middle and upper school students were awarded plaques best describing their role on their perspective teams. Each letter in the coveted OAK award stands for an impressive attribute in the student to which it’s awarded. “O” stands for overachiever; “A” stands for attitude, and “K” stands for knowledge. Awards were also given to the most valuable players and most improved players on each team. The 2019-20 honorees included:


Middle School Boys Basketball

  • Blue Oak Award: Charlie Crenshaw ’24
  • White Oak Award: Parker Howlett ’25
  • Red Oak Award: Kyle Perez ’07 

Middle School Girls Basketball

  • Blue Oak Award:  Ruby Glover ’24
  • White Oak Award: Jordyn Adams ’25 

Junior Varsity Boys Basketball

  • Oak Award: Bo Taliaferro ’23
  • MVP: Brennan Chatman ’23

Varsity Girls Basketball

  • Oak Award: Tyler Hodges ’22
  • MVP: Iris Krantz ’20
  • Most Improved: Ellie Robertson ’21 

Junior Varsity Girls Basketball

  • Oak Award: Kaitlyn Baxter ’22
  • MVP: Ashyah Johnson ’22 

Varsity Boys Basketball

  • Oak Award:  Tristan How ’20
  • MVP: Jordan Battle ’20
  • Most Improved: Nick Howlett ’20
  • Managers: Veronica Gross ’21 and Kendra Honey ’21

Middle School Wrestling

  • Oak Award: Evan Wallach ’25

Junior Varsity Wrestling

  • Oak Award:  Aarav Patel ’24
  • Most Outstanding: Bronson Grigg ’25

Varsity Wrestling

  • Oak Award: Jackson Delanty ’23
  • Most Outstanding: Ronnie Boone ’24
  • Most Improved: Jake Rosenblum ’23

Varsity Cheer

  • Oak Award: Andrew Gallagher ’21
  • MVP: Hailey Hux ’20
  • Most Improved: Nolwen Andre ’20

Middle School Cheer

  • Oak Award: Ayla Reddix ’24

Boys Varsity Swimming

  • Oak Award: Noah Jenkins ’21
  • MVP: Chas LeHew ’20
  • Most Improved: Michael Harvey ’20

Girls Varsity Swimming

  • Oak Award: Tabitha Thornton ’20
  • MVP: Maddie Timmons ’24
  • Most Improved: Lauren Morrow ’24

Middle School Girls Swimming

  • Oak Award: Bridgett Dineen ’25

Middle School Boys Swimming

  • Oak Award: Elliott Thomson ’25